Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 214 Likes Search this Thread
08-03-2018, 12:54 PM - 1 Like   #346
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Racer X 69 Quote
I drove 800,000 miles in five years while at the wheel of Monstro and company.

When not employed as a truck driver I average around 35,000 annually.

So far I have driven about a quarter of a million miles.
Indeed! And as a professional driver, you are likely a much safer driver.

Despite the popular opinion that big trucks are a hazard on the highways, the analyses of accidents show that it's car drivers that are at fault most of the time.

From a strict societal safety point of view, autonomous cars have a lower required threshold of performance than do autonomous trucks because human car drivers are less safe than human truck drivers.

08-03-2018, 12:57 PM - 1 Like   #347
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by gaweidert Quote
So who get the ticket if a driverless vehicle is caught speeding? How does the cop even pull it over in the first place? There is too much money made by too many government entities to ever make driverless vehicles mandatory. Plus modern automobiles are way too easy to hack.
08-03-2018, 01:06 PM   #348
PDL
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by photoptimist Quote
An autonomous vehicle's reaction will almost certainly be faster and better than most human driver's responses. Autonomous vehicles have long-range sensors, can see in all directions all the time, and have much faster reaction times.
One word, Uber.

---------- Post added 08-03-18 at 01:12 PM ----------

Taking an autonomous car to Yosemite would be just like renting a car. You pick the vehicle that has the features you want (size, towing capacity, etc.), tell the service that you want the car for 10 day, and off you go. Or maybe you don't even need to say how long you want the car but the service changes some rate for every mile you go and every minute you keep the car.