Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 26 Likes Search this Thread
09-30-2019, 06:58 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
What got YOU into photography?

Since this forum has photographers at various experience levels and in a wide age range, thought this would be an interesting thread on how everyone here got interested photography (film, digital, etc.)

So like the title says, what got *you* into photography?

09-30-2019, 07:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I worked as an editorial assistant at a publishing company when I was around 18 to 20 years of age. One day the publisher called me into his office and said I would have to be 'more useful' and directed me to get a camera. I didn't know anything about cameras and asked him what kind of camera...mentioning if he meant the small point and shoot 35mm cameras of the day. He said no, either a Pentax or a Nikon single lens reflex...something that can produce 'publishable' photographs.

After work that day, I went to a camera store and discussed my photographic needs with the store staff. Their recommendation was a Pentax S1a camera. I checked out prices at various shops and by the end of the week had purchased an S1a and a small ten buck, hand held Sekonic light meter.

I still have that camera and still have that light meter and both still work. I bought them in February, 1968. Both the Pentax and the Sekonic became valued, reliable tools and I used them hard (but never put them away wet ) for a number of years.

From there, I developed a passion for photography, which to this day I've never been able to extinguish. I've had quite a number of different camera makes in the ensuing years...but Pentax and Sekonic have always been my main brands, as they never let me down when I earned part of my living with these two fine pieces of equipment.
09-30-2019, 07:26 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery