Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 316 Likes Search this Thread
11-21-2019, 07:12 AM - 1 Like   #46
Pentaxian

As a coffee novice, I enjoy using my Delonghi 'Dedica' espresso machine. Slimline so fits snugly into a little corner, can change temperature settings (I err on the side of 'warm' rather than 'hot') and there are people who have upgraded theirs with a 'naked basket' or Rancilio wand. I'm tempted to go for the former 'upgrade' to see what it's about.

As for grounds (not beans, sorry) I go for Lidl Colombian (Blue packet for those in the UK). Small amount of Demerara sugar and top up with hot water, or just the sugar if I'm going espresso.
I would like to try beans, but would need to invest in a grinder and I'm happy enough with the system I've got going on.

11-21-2019, 07:35 AM - 1 Like   #47
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Benz3ne Quote
. . . As for grounds (not beans, sorry) . . .
I would like to try beans, but would need to invest in a grinder and I'm happy enough with the system I've got going on.
whatever process you like is best but

hand grinders are not expensive

this is the type i use

Hario Ceramic Mini Plus Coffee Mill

remember that the more " surface area " [ ground coffee ] the quicker it goes stale

beans have less " surface area " and are intact, but still will go stale after roasting

proper storage helps
11-21-2019, 07:49 AM   #48
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by noelpolar Quote
I've been roasting my own beans for almost 10 years now...... and have been using a Pavoni Profesional small expresso machine for over 25 years.... 6 coffees a day... (2 cups ... 3 times)....Madcap grinder.

I take it away camping with me.... runs off a inverter/lithium setup.