Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
05-13-2020, 03:12 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The yeast shortage... thinking of starting to do sourdough

I have zero experience with sourdough... but my bread yeast is about to run out in 10 days or so. I make about 2 breads each 3 days - in the bread machine. My bread machine is great - put it all in at night before going to bed (it only takes a minute or two), program it, and wake up to the smell of fresh bread.

I know quite a few of you make your own bread...

I'm not afraid of making sourdough... but I'm afraid of the time commitment. From what I hear, it demands quite a bit of time if you're to make a loaf every day (without dry yeast) - you can mix it in the bread machine but you'd have to take it out and leave it for a while because it doesn't rise as quickly. Then you have to heat up the oven, with a tray of water to get the bread crispy, and bake it - basically being there for the entire process...

I'd hate to go back to store bought bread but buying bread once a week or so might make sense rather than spending an hour or hour and a half committed to the bread making process... and my wife - who's a great cook but who really favors what's most practical - won't do it at all.

Or am I really overestimating the time it takes?

05-13-2020, 08:07 PM   #2

Simple questions
  • how much cost a bread?
  • when you work (or worked if retired), what is worth your hourly rate?
  • how many bread do you produce in the allowted time?
From the practical side, can you use your time better?
You may buy one or two breads in fewer minutes, for probably much less time

(Unless you really like cooking and have «*free time*» in your hands)
Right now, lots of people have lots of free time.
05-14-2020, 07:02 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster