Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 24 Likes Search this Thread
08-13-2020, 03:08 PM - 3 Likes   #16
bxf
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by reeftool Quote
Towing a trailer is kind of a pain and doesn't really replace the convenience of a pickup truck although the trailer does have value. Even many truck owners also have a trailer. I've been a mechanic for 45 years. My choice if I was going to Africa would be the Toyota Hi Lux (Tacoma here in the US). They are rugged and parts are available anywhere in the world. When I visited the US Navy Seal museum in Florida a couple of years ago, they had a Hi Lux on display that had been used in overseas operations. They buy them retail wherever they are and outfit them with their military necessities. The retired Seal I was talking to said they are better than anything they could bring over.
No, a trailer wouldn't be as convenient as a pickup, but since I'd be making only limited use of the vehicle, it may not be too much of a problem. And OK, I am definitely convinced of the suitability of the HiLux. There's lots of evidence to support your own observations.

QuoteOriginally posted by Just1MoreDave Quote
There might be an advantage importing a vehicle yourself, particularly a truck. Supply and demand might make them expensive or rare in Africa but cheaper in Europe. Transportation costs aren't too bad, but you'll have to deal with customs and paperwork.
There was a time when cars in the US were much, much cheaper than "anywhere" else, especially used cars, which would go for a song and a few bucks. As far as I can see, those days are gone, though I haven't done a comparison of US vs EU prices.