Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2020, 03:20 AM - 2 Likes   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by BigMackCam Quote
Our old friend Rupert had a "What's for dinner" thread for posting photos of meals, but I thought it might be a nice idea - especially in these socially-distanced, somewhat-isolated times - to share favourite meal recipes. One thing we can still enjoy as always is cooking at home for ourselves and/or close family, right?

I'm just an amateur home cook with very limited skills and repertoire, but I'm always looking for new recipes to try. I've a few favourites of my own to contribute, and whilst nothing especially impressive, they're tasty and - fittingly for my skills - simple and foolproof

Here's one I've made a couple of times recently - "Meditteranean Pork & Potatoes". It's an adaptation of Rick Stein's "Lamb Kleftiko", and works equally well with either meat - but I prefer it with pork shoulder. I made it this past weekend and now have the ingredients, quantities and preparation about right. Depending on the size of the pork shoulder, it should feed six hungry people.
Mediterranean Pork & Potatoes

1 x good-sized shoulder of pork
1 x large white onion, thinkly sliced
1.5lbs x Charlotte potatoes (or other small, waxy variety), halved or cut into large chunks
2 x large red, orange or yellow bell peppers, de-seeded and sliced
3 x good-sized vine-ripened tomatoes, thickly sliced
8 x large cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed with the flat of a knife
4oz x feta cheese, crumbled or cut into small cubes
1 x fresh lemon, juiced
3 fl oz x good olive oil
10 fl oz x water
Dried oregano
Sea salt
Ground black pepper

Pre-heat oven to 375F / 190C (340F / 170C fan-assisted).

Cover the bottom of a high-sided roasting tin or large crock-pot with the sliced onion and add smashed garlic cloves.

Add the potatoes, arranging so they cover the onions.