Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2009, 01:22 AM   #1

I hate my girlfriend...

Well, actually, I don't.
However, every once in a while, when we're on a hike, or on a beach, or some such thing where I'm firing away with my trusty K10D and producing gigabytes of crap, she would grab my camera, click a couple of times and have THE keepers for the day. And then my train of thought goes something like this: "God damn it, how does this happen and why is she better than me at everything....."

The point I'm trying to make is that I am a horrible photographer. But I can't quite figure out why?
The pictures coming out of the camera always look different than what I have in my head. It just doesn't quite happen, doesn't quite connect.

Maybe I lack perspective, maybe I'm just an idiot.

Oh well, maybe I'll try yodeling for a hobby....

02-15-2009, 01:41 AM   #2
Inactive Account

keep taking pictures. ask your girlfriend to show you some pointers lol.
02-15-2009, 01:52 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Maybe the "firing away" and the "gigabytes" have something to do with it.
02-15-2009, 02:00 AM   #4
Forum Member

perhaps you're over thinking the technicalities of what makes a good photo, rather than just snapping what feels right?

just a thought...

02-15-2009, 02:39 AM   #5
Damn Brit

Tim I have a solution for you.
Buy an OEM 53 Eyepiece and two eye patches. Make a cutout in one of the eye patches for the eyepiece and insert said eyepiece into the eyepatch. Wear this over your shooting eye. Wear the other eye patch over your non shooting eye. Walk around like that for a week and you will start producing the shots you see.

There is another response but it involves broken fingers and I am most definitely not recommending that.
02-15-2009, 03:45 AM   #6
Forum Member

Perhaps you give yourself too much stress to get a GREAT photo. On the other hand, your gal just shoots to remember.
02-15-2009, 04:23 AM   #7