Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2009, 01:50 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
What's wrong with our school systems?

I started writing articles for online content providers for extra money. My first article was rejected for improper comma usage.

When I was looking for a site with the rules for comma usage, I found one with lots of other grammar exercises. I started at the beginning, with verbs, and realized how much basic grammar I don't know.

My problem is this, I graduated from high school with honors. There's no reason anyone should be graduating from high school with honors if they don't know how to put a sentence together(put together a sentence?)

I don't think it's a problem with the resources offered by schools. I think you can get a hell of a lot out of school, if you apply yourself, and take it seriously. I did neither of those things, and I know that's my fault. My main interests were martial arts, skateboarding, and doing drugs. But I also think that if I didn't know how to properly construct a sentence, then there's no reason I should have graduated with honors. I should have been given a "hey, you just barely made it" diploma, at best.

I have no problem with teaching myself grammar now. But I think it's sad that I was even allowed to pass the 12th grade, without having it so chiseled into my mind, that I couldn't forget it if I wanted to.

Just so you know, I'm 26. So high school was a long time ago for me. I started this writing thing because my career as real estate appraiser isn't exactly a career anymore. Also, my next business won't be up and running until some time in April.

I apologize for all of the improper punctuation, and grammar mistakes that I'm sure are in this rant. I would go back and fix them, but I don't know how

03-07-2009, 03:15 AM   #2