Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-26-2009, 05:33 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Asymmetrical Warfare: Why America CANNOT Ignore Afghanistan

Hello,

I wrote this as a reply to a friend of mine, regarding the current political debate about US troops going into Afghanistan. I know people in this forum like their politics and come from various sides of the political spectrum, so I wanted to see what folk thought of it. There seems to be a proliferation of "anti intervantion" thoughts about and I felt an urge to slightly redress the balance. I havn't really thought too much about International Relations and Security Studies since I finished my Masters in it at St.Andrews in 1994; there might very well be points I've missed.

Cheers

Afghanistan isn't about "Al-Qaeda" - it's about Geopolitics. Let's face it, even the supreme US commander there admits that there is no Al-Qaeda threat in Afghanistan. But looking at the bigger picture, there is a 'situation' there which affects the West. Let's take 3 potential scenarios:

1) If the 'West' retains influence in Afghanistan, we have a foothold at the rim of the Caspian, a strategically vital area with the potential to deliver much of Eastern Europe's energy in the next 50 years. Russia hasn't hesitated to use gas supplies as a strategic weapon in great geopolitical game and there is little reason to believe that they'll hesitate in the future. We'd have a seat looking at the frontline of Russia's sphere of influence, and we'll be in the backyard of China and India, two of this century's emerging superpowers. Like it or not, that's where a lot of the action will be in this millenium.