Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-19-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Flickr Blackhole

Hello all,

I am sure everybody is aware of the situation, but maybe I will be the first one to verbalize it. Flickr site is gobbling our precious image data, whenever I try to gather information I see image is not available warning instead of the image..

I am new to fkickr and just uploaded coupla pictures, so I am not sure know why those images are lost. Maybe owner of the images has to login to flickr to keep images available or they just delete images and so on so on. but the results is we lost a lot of precious data with flickr.

Maybe we should ask to flickr not to delete data from their databases and owner f to photos attach here not to give a link to flickr site.

I've just wanted to express my disappointment from lost flickr images, maybe someone will come up with more informative information and suggestions.

12-19-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What are you smoking?

The pictures aren't lost. Either the owner deleted the picture; deleted their account; or replaced the picture (breaks existing links).

Flickr is not an archive, it's a photosharing website. Try reading the FAQs there and post in the help forum (Flickr: The Help Forum) there. They can actually help you there, rather than venting on a random forum.
12-19-2009, 08:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

The problem may be that the owner changed the permissions on the photo (changed from "public" to "private", for example, or made it available only to family/friends). This causes the file name Flickr uses in their database to change. Restoring the permissions does not restore the file name, by the way.