Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-23-2007, 09:43 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Advice Columnist Advice on Photography - do you agree?

I read this column the other day and I was wondering how others would respond.
Dear Amy:

I am an avid amateur photographer with a particular interest in landscape and scenic photography, and I love to travel.

When traveling, I often take hundreds of photos because my digital cameras allow me to.

I put a lot of effort into my photography, and I am generally proud of the results. Being single, when I plan a trip I often try to find a friend to travel with for companionship. I am careful when traveling with others to be sure that my photographic activities don't interfere with their ability to enjoy the trip.

Recently I have been increasingly annoyed by the tendency of my traveling companions to demand that I give them CDs of my pictures after the trip. One of my companions even said that, having been along on the trip, she had a "right" to the photos. I wouldn't claim to be an artist, but I I'd like to maintain some control over my photographs.

I am not totally against sharing my work, and I am happy to give them copies of pictures in which they appear. However, I balk at giving them every photo I took, especially in electronic form, which is so easily copied, altered, e-mailed, posted on the Web, etc.

How should I handle this?

Curmudgeon Photographer

This phenomenon has become much more common with the advent of digital photography. Strangers standing nearby will offer their e-mail address, along with the expectation of an e-mailed photo if they suspect that you got off a good shot.

No one should be demanding anything from you after a trip, much less the fruit of your creative endeavors.

It is generous of you to offer to provide companions with photos in which they appear. Keep it at that.