Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2010, 09:19 PM   #1

Lost all my pictures.

Hard drive failure. That 300GB HDD contained all the assignement stuff I shot since I started shooting digital in early 2007. Plus a few personal and family photos as well. All .PEF RAW files.

I made a data recovery attempt using Stellar Phoenix, to no avail. Dropped the HDD at my local Apple service center for another data recovery attempt, with similar results: nothing.

My last hope: DataRecovery in Toronto. They're experts at this. If they fail, my portfolio and my assignements pictures are probably gone forever.

I had a backup HDD copy of the first hard drive, but that one was stolen a few days ago. I was about to make a new backup when the second HDD failed. Talk about some bad timing!

Digital files are not like real, tangible, physical things like prints, negatives or slides. They only exist on the medias on which they are recorded: HDD, CD-R, DVD-R, etc. At least with a slide or a negative, I would be able to make a new scan!

This afternoon, I felt like selling my K10D and K-7 and buying a good old Pentax or Mamiya 645 film camera, lol. Sure, I couldn't compete with other event photographers anymore with the film processing, but at least, I would have some lasting physical photographs.

Unless my home is burnt down to the ground by fire or unless I get robbed, etc. Images are never eternal, digital or physical.

Take great care of yours. Burn them on CDs and store a double of each one of them at your sister, father or friend's home. Or put that double in a safety deposit. I should've done that in the first place. Instead, I put my trust in a pair of hard disk drives. A big mistake.