Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20314 Likes Search this Thread
01-18-2018, 03:04 AM   #11416
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by WPRESTO Quote
...... who really knows without having the lens in hand? I'm no expert on used equipment, but there's no way I would consider purchasing that lens except as a shelf-piece, but I generally keep only lenses I actually use, plus a few that I cannot sell (nobody will purchase at anything near a reasonable price) and do not indulge in collecting antiques.
I decided to pull the trigger, fully aware that a good diagnosis is impossible without having the lens in my hands.
It's about 170 euros shipped. The lens goes on Ebay for around 300 euros (for a decent M42 version), but it can reach 450 euros for a spotless example.
Considering that the camera is a collectible, and seems to be in better condition than the lens, I have the option of selling it recovering part of the expense.
The Praktica FX comes with the original case and accessory pentaprism viewfinder, it could appeal to a Praktica collector...
Regarding CLA expense, I guess it will come for free. If I can take care of it in person, it would be a pleasure rather than an inconvenience. If I need help, a friend of mine would step in and do what's physically possible to do.
He is a stereo camera collector, and a very good vintage camera's repairman. He's quite good with lenses too, and converted a few of my objectives to P67 and PK mount.

I'd never buy a small format lens to keep it as a shelf piece.
I like to actually use my vintage optics, at least those which make some sense on a DSLR.
If the Primagon can't be restored to fully working conditions, I would take it as a loss, even it would be re-sellable.

cheers

Paolo

01-18-2018, 04:53 AM   #11417
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums