Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20312 Likes Search this Thread
01-04-2022, 06:13 AM - 3 Likes   #24316
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To those with mouse problems

1) get the plastic snap-traps that look somewhat like a clip to put on a bag of chips. The are much-much easier to bait and set that the traditional design

2) Go to your local animal shelter and get a young cat or two. Unlike mechanical traps, once they know there's a mouse in the house, they will actively seek it out. Once they know it goes into a particular hiding spot, they will sit there for hours waiting to KILL it, or at least invite it for some play-time.

01-04-2022, 09:08 AM - 1 Like   #24317
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Lord Lucan Quote
I had been thinking of showing what Father Xmas brought me, so prompted by your post I have. Mine is said to be a rat trap, it's quite big. I've been fighting mice for several years using mechanical traps (and I've got quite good at it by now*), but the electronic trap is quicker to set up and does not go off with temperature changes etc. They are supposed to be more humaine too. It has caught three mice so far. This is the best picture I can find, from the USA, but they are available in the UK and anywhere else I suppose. On the expensive side though.

* Mechanical traps - go for all-metal ones with a wide "pedal", file the end of the trigger wire dead square and bend it to exactly right-angles to the hole it fits in, set with zero overlap (ie hair-triggered), nail it to a heavy block of wood, and bait with Nutella.
Why would someone bring you rats?
01-04-2022, 09:11 AM   #24318
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
QuoteOriginally posted by lmd91343 Quote
Why would someone bring you rats?
Rodents bring themselves.
01-04-2022, 10:30 AM   #24319
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery