Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2013, 07:30 PM   #1

I wish Pentax would launch a product like range finder type

If they could launch a product like RD1S or Lumix-L1, with the ability of handle nicely with the manual focus vintage lens.
Of cause that's a only a dream.
So far I'm just getting into the vintage lens (M42) with Olympus and Panasonic bodies, have not been touching my Fuji X100 for a while.
I'm not a DSLR type guy, almost bought a K01, but stall at the end, could not enjoy the looking of it

05-31-2013, 12:03 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
It would be ironic if Pentax released a digital rangefinder, since they never produced a film rangefinder (to the best of my knowledge). Indeed isn't the name of the company from the "Pentaprism" in an SLR?
05-31-2013, 01:35 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If pentax did leicaphiles would stomp on it for no other reason than spite - you simply have no idea how aggressively bigoted some Leica fans can be. Just look at what happened to the konica Hexar RF*, or the Epson RD-1. Zeiss it rumored to be producing a Digital IKON camera, but that is only a rumour.

QuoteOriginally posted by patrickw Quote
It would be ironic if Pentax released a digital rangefinder, since they never produced a film rangefinder (to the best of my knowledge). Indeed isn't the name of the company from the "Pentaprism" in an SLR?
Correct, pentax never has made a film RF camera - however there is the FA43mm f/1.9 Special in Leica thread mount which has quite a following amongst leicaphiles.

*I own six of these beautiful cameras, and in my mind the Hexar RF is what the Leica M7 should have been.
05-31-2013, 02:42 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote