Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-05-2013, 05:04 PM   #1

Q10/Q7 or K-01 or other?

I guess this is the best place to post this-

I've recently been trying to think the best way to document my job. I work as an architectural designer. I would like to tell a story of the project from construction start, during to completion. The biggest benefit sometimes is access. I have had access to areas and locations throughout NYC that the average person couldn't get to; Celebrity homes, high-rises, roofs, and historic/prominent buildings. I hate to say it but most have gone undocumented. I've at times just popped a few shots on my iPhone.

I use to use my company gear but it was always dirty and not well maintained (for pristine photographs). It was fine for snap shots of existing/repair conditions. I have recently transitioned to using my own gear. I've done some entire building completion shoots but that's full fledge with k-5/k-r, 28shift, uwa and telephoto (for details) lenses.

Here is where my problem presents itself- I need/want to have a camera to take quality on-going photos of the little (or big!) intricacies of my daily tasks. I can't lug my k-5 or even k-r w/lens to every job site, meeting, etc. I need something I can have in my pocket at all times/all day.

K-01
Pros: IQ, takes k-mount lenses
Cons: size, price

Q10/Q7
Pros: size, price
Cons: q-mount

Comments? Ideas? Any additional pros or cons??

09-05-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Sony RX100 (M1 or M2) is still the best pocketable camera with zoom available on the market today. Otherwise consider a Ricoh GR.
09-05-2013, 05:24 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums