Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2014, 01:45 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
EVF - makes you sick?

Hello. I've been shooting DSLR for quite a few years, and before that I've had SLR cameras.

Now a while back I decided that I wanted to take full advantage of my many old lenses and I felt a need for better ISO handling so I decided that a full-frame was the logical next step. I went to the local store to get a feel for the Sony A7 and more specifically the A7S. After using the EVF for about 30 seconds I thought I was going to puke, literally.

I have no tendencies what so ever for car sickness or sea sickness so I don't know why I have such problems watching an EVF. Am I alone or are there more people with the same problems? Is sonys implementation worse than what others have?

10-09-2014, 01:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

personnally, EVF gives me headhache. I guess, you have to get a bit used to it.

It's basically that you are looking at a screen, so maybe the EVF is a bit to bright (that's what's causing me headache ...).
10-09-2014, 03:09 AM   #3
Pentaxian

As EVFs go Sony has one of the best if not the best.

I'm in the same boat with you. I did not puke like you did but I did not like the feel of the A7's EVF at all. If they said tomorrow that EVF is all that is available, I will learn to like it. Until such time, I like my optical viewfinder a lot more.

I also tried a friend's NEX7 just last week. It has an EVF which I do not like. But it has focus peaking which allows for very precise focusing with old manual lenses. That feature I liked a lot. For my aging eyes which are not good enough for manual lenses the focus peaking opens up a whole new world.