Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-09-2015, 06:00 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
zoom lens for q

Posting for a friend

Hi guys I'm just a beginner, I have the pentax q and would like a lens that equals 50x zoom but not sure what type to get and what kind of adapter I might need. Going to be taking a trip and that would be really useful as of right now I only have the standard lens. I did see there is the telephoto one you can buy buts its a little pricey for me.

thanks for any and all help.

06-09-2015, 06:20 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
hm what does he mean by 50x zoom? he could get something like a 70-200, 70-300, 55-300 or 18-250 in K mount coupled with a Q to K adapter but i doubt it is going to be cheaper..
with the original q you have a crop factor of about 5.6 for Q and Q10 for the Q7 and QS1 its about 4.7 times
with the above lenses, e.g. 18-250 this would give something like a 100 - 1400 on the Q or for the Q-7 84 - 1175 mm

It does not necessarily need to be in K mount could be anything that has a Q to X adapter like the ones from Fotodiox.

the pentax adapter is the best and has some advantages like leaf shutter and aperture control but is the highest price.

As soon as an adapter is used the lens will be all manual... no auto focus, aperture control.

Last edited by max_pyne; 06-09-2015 at 06:33 AM.
06-09-2015, 06:26 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
50x? Did you mean 5x?
06-09-2015, 06:32 AM   #4
Pentaxian

There aren't that many native Q lenses. You can see them listed here:
Pentax Q-Mount Prime Lenses - Reviews and Specifications - SLR and Interchangeable Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
Pentax Q-Mount Zoom Lenses - Reviews and Specifications - SLR and Interchangeable Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database