Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2018, 05:19 AM - 4 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Just speculations on mirrorless and Pentax

This is only my opinion, no one has to agree with it, but trust me I am an engineer.

I think the future is mirrorless, it just has better properties then the DSLRs, we just can't use them all now with current tech.
The mirrorless has at least these advantages:
  • No need for separate AF and AE sensors, the main sensor can do all of this.
  • No need for AF adjustment, the main sensor always can check it with contrast detection.
  • It's lighter, the prism is big and heavy.
  • Shorter flange distances are possible, so more tech can be added in place of the mirror or thinner body can be created.
  • Shutter lag can be totally eliminated. If the (future) sensor captures continuously, then the camera can save the image taken when you pushed the button or even before you pushed the shutter button.
  • Any custom overlay can be added to the viewfinder image. Focus peaking, histogram, under/overexposure warnings...
  • Exposeur can be simulated. (I like it when I half press the shutter button)
  • Low light manual focus is easier with "correct exposure" viewfinder image

Thanks to the VR madness small high quality, low latency, HDR monitors are advancing very quickly, so the viewfinders gets better while the research costs goes to other segments, because these are mandatory for VR headsets. I think EVFs will catch up in the next few years.

While I'am a Pentax shooter and I really like my KP and the OVF, I think the future is the mirrorless with EVF, we are only waiting for faster readout speeds and lower power consumption. (Lower consumption is also mandatory for the sensor cooling, we need a continuously running FF sensor for these!)