Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2019, 05:00 PM   #1

What does it really take to create a mirrorless camera?

Let's try to keep it civilizated, i'm just a car mechanic that is passionate about computers, and happens to know how to use a camera, but zero idea about building them.

But who knows how to properly create a camera is Pentax, or let's say Ricoh, and we can see it either with big bodies like the 645 or the K1, or either with tiny bodies like the Ricoh GR III.

My question is, what does it really take to create a mirrorless camera?

There are actual differences between a ML sensor and a DSLR sensor?
If not, how hard should be for Pentax to optimize development costs to slap like, whatever they have? Let's say, a KP/K1 sensor, the Q mount (probably impossible on an APS-C or FF sensor) or even a full K mount (i know that would add some thickness to the camera as we saw on the K-01), and combine what they already have to create something competitive on the mirrorless market? The Pentax user, i think, is more rationale when compromises come to mind, for example, i put the example sometimes that i prefer the weather sealing on my camera than some fancy WiFi connectivity.

I know this isn't that easy, but for example, on my car perspective, isn't that crazy to take a shell, pick whatever engine you like, craft some bits, and end with a pretty dope car which can, or can't, be street legal. I want to believe this can be done by Ricoh if there was some kind of market for mirrorless on the Pentax buyer standpoint.

What do you think?

10-28-2019, 05:03 PM - 6 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
deadhorse
10-28-2019, 05:18 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums