Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2012, 10:48 PM   #1

Yes, this is a newbie question

So, I got my K30..I LOVE IT. I read the user manual from front to back and need to re read it because Im sure I did NOT comprehend everything. Especially since this is my first Dslr.

Now the question In "AUTO" mode when I press the ISO button (the up button) It allows me to turn the dial and change the ISO up or down ex it can say 100 - 400 and I can change it to say 100-800 or 200-800...but when I go back to the screen after that mode it says ISO AUTO...so am I actually changing the ISO oooorrr what?

and please explain it to me like you are talking to a 5 year old. I know that sounds odd but I am NOT a techie and i will be honest with you i understand things better if they are broken down kindergarten style. You will not insult my by doing that haha

08-16-2012, 11:20 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You're changing the automatic ISO range. In AUTO, the camera will choose which ISO for the scene to be taken within the given range.
08-16-2012, 11:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
There are 2 different ISO/Sensitivity modes.

Manual: You pick a single ISO setting (e.g. 400) and the camera will only use that ISO.
Automatic: This could also be referred to as variable. You pick a range of ISO values (e.g. 100 ~ 400) and the camera will automatically set the ISO within the range you specify, based on its exposure algorithm.

Here's an example scenario:
You set the ISO to 100 and put the camera mode on Green (fully auto). Based on the metering system's readings, the camera selects a shutter speed of 1/15 and an aperture of f/4.
Now, change the ISO to auto with a range of 100 to 400. Now you set up the exact same composition. This time the camera sees you put it on auto ISO, so instead of 1/15s the camera uses 1/60 and it increases the sensitivity (ISO) from 100 to 400.