Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
Forum Member

RaW + DNGs altered at import in LR

ok, I am new to RAW processing, AND LR, what am I doing wrong?

When I shoot RAW only, the images are just that, raw and needing editing, but when I shoot RAW + the DNG file in LR is identical to the JPEG image, and resetting it does nothing...could someone please tell me what I am doing wrong? There is no comparison possible as they both have been processed...

Thanks in advance!

08-25-2012, 12:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Are you grouping both the RAW/DNG and the JPG as one file? Lightroom can either keep them separate or as a single file. I always keep them separate, so I'm not sure which one LR chooses for its display when you keep them together. I suspect it keeps the JPEG version. From your description it sounds like you are keeping them separate. Just making sure.

If you are keeping them separate, I'm not really sure why the behavior would be different.
LR will briefly show the internal JPG for the RAW file and that will match the separate JPG.
But when you select it, or after LR creates its preview, the Internal JPG is no longer displayed and you should see the RAW version.

What version of LightRoom, which OS, and what camera?
08-25-2012, 01:39 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
What custom image setting are you using for the JPEG? To create an obvious difference between the two files you could set the custom image to monochrome, fire off a few test shots in DNG+, then import the files into Lightroom and see what it does.
08-26-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks guys,