Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2012, 11:40 AM   #1

Pentax K30 heavy NR applied to RAW files...

I've got my Pentax K30 for a few days now and my enthusiasm dropped quite a bit today when I played with some high ISO files...I also have a K-5 and I compared the two cameras and unfortunately it looks like K30 applies some heavy NR to it's RAW files, by default. I will try to upload a couple of ISO 3200 samples to see for yourself. I hope it will work, I've never done this before... The K-5's white balance is a bit off but the NR in K-30's is really obvious anyway...

K30

K-5

K30b

K-5b

K30c

K-5c

Last edited by Nicks; 09-08-2012 at 12:17 PM.
09-08-2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Don't shoot above ISO1600 then, just lighten up ISO1600 photos.
09-08-2012, 11:48 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Are you sure you're looking at RAW NR?
What software are you using to process the files?
I did a quick check a few days ago and the RAW files looked good up to ISO6400.

Added later...

Here's a test that might prove helpful: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&camer...86507151034328

If you pan around the scene(using the navigator) you'll find that the K-30 is pretty much on parr with the K-5 in terms of NR, though interestingly enough, it seems to edge out a bit past the K-5 in detail retention.
09-08-2012, 12:24 PM   #4

Original Poster
JohnBee, I know that comparison. If you look at the Kodak gray scale on the upper part of the image, at around 12-13 scale, you will see how evident the NR is. It's true, it's not visible on all textures and, of course, only evident in darker areas.

09-08-2012, 12:49 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Nicks Quote