Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-11-2012, 07:03 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Upgrading from a Pentax K-r

Hey guys!
I was able to sell my K-r here in Brazil, and i wanna buy another Pentax camera. I'm looking at the Pentax K-30.
Do you guys recommend it?
I'm here everyday and i keep reading topics and reviews, but i'm afraid to buy a newly released camera, that might have some problems.
I'm very excited to have focus peaking, WR, better grip, two wheels, better autofocus, better sensor and also a new camera (it's always good, isn't it?).
Are there any problems with the K-30? Wheel lock up? Flash problems? (my k-r flash suddenly stopped working, and i've been using it with a AF280T for 8 months now)Front/Backfocus?( i read that the k-30 doesnt FF nor BF, so thats a good sign).
Is the autofocus system faster, or just more accurate? (i read that it's the same as the k-5, just more accurate).
Thank you, and sorry to unload a million of questions

09-11-2012, 07:06 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have a K-r and upgraded beginning of August to K-30. I couldn't be happier. So far (knocking wood!), I have had no problems with the K-30. And the improved AF is a big deal to me. It is more accurate and reliable and a bit faster. On some lenses the difference is more noticeable. I feel the FA77 is much faster to AF on the K-30 than it was on the K-r and also more accurate.

The high ISO performance is also better, and I love the brighter viewfinder and more controls. TAv mode is very cool, too!

I cannot seem to get the hang of focus peaking so I haven't really benefited from it yet. You may be different.
09-11-2012, 07:43 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
Don't be afraid of the upgrade. You definitely won't regret it. Although my upgrade path was coming from a much lower specced camera in the K-x, I have loved the K-30 since getting it in July. No problems at all. And here are some photos I shot using focus peaking: