Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2012, 04:16 PM - 2 Likes   #1

D600 causes me to buy a K30.

A little background... I've been shooting with Pentax for the past five years (K5 for the past 1.5 years). Before that I used Canon film cameras for a decade, and Minolta for a decade before that... so I'm not afraid to try different brands.

So... yesterday I went into a local (regional chain) store to check out the new Nikon D600. My main interest was to see how small and light they could make a full-frame camera, and to compare the size/weight to my K5. It seemed like a very nice camera, but this one didn't have a battery in it so I really couldn't judge it very well. I figured I would come back some other day when they had one that actually worked.

Then, I saw something I haven't seen in years... a new Pentax SLR for sale in a local store. I asked to see the K30. The not-too-friendly sales-guy probably thought I was crazy wanting to see the K30 after the D600. I played with it for five or ten minutes and really liked it. It is smaller and lighter than my K5 (better for hiking), has excellent live-view (which I appreciate more now after my recent experimenting with a micro 4/3 camera), it felt really nice in my hands, and I know it will have excellent image quality based on the sensor. I really didn't have much interest in the K30 (not enough to buy one) before I walked in the store. However, it seemed like a mini K5 with improved electronics... and I wanted it.

When I got home, I quickly read some reviews to find out if there were any deal-breakers, then ordered a K30 kit. It'll arrive Thursday. So, in closing, I'd like to thank Nikon for releasing the D600.

09-30-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Curious: in-store price vs online price for K-30?
09-30-2012, 04:39 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery