Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-18-2012, 04:34 PM   #1

Bought a K30

I''ve been wanting to replace my old 35's for awhile now. My K1000 and A3000 have served me well but the allure of a dslr was to much. I have bought digital cameras and they were okay for general stuff. I bought this camera by GE and when I opened up the box for the K30 today it's button layout was a lot like the cheaper GE camera. Of course the K30 has a few more buttons and rotary switches and will likely out perform the GE a hundredfold or more.

I am happy with the camera so so far. I went ahead and bought a Pentax zoom lenses to go with the 18-50 that came with it. The zoom lenses is 55-300 so I should be happy for awhile.
My only moan is the Pentax bag, they could have put a pocket on the side or somewhere to hold the different accessory manuals and disc. So overall no complaints at all.

I am sure since I am new to the dslr world I will have a few questions soon. I also got a Pentax flash unit for the camera. I have a lot of reading to do so I will end this now.

If anyone has any accessory suggestions or other tips they will be much appreciated.

I just had a thought, will the old Cokin filter system work with this camera if you can find the correct adapter ring?

Mark

10-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #2

Original Poster
I looked at the manual for the camera and assumed it so thick because of other languages. I was wrong, it's all English and I have some reading to do.
I also found out I guess that you can not turn power on without a memory card installed. My sd cards won't be here till tomorrow. Oh well it will give me time to read.
All comments, tips, suggestions welcome.

Mark
10-18-2012, 06:47 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums