Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2012, 11:56 PM   #1

Hot shoe flash question

Please forgive me if I don't use the proper verbiage I am very new to the camera arena. I have a k-30 with the 18-55mm lens. I use it a lot taking pictures of my ferrets playing. The lighting is indoor and I need a faster flash. Also what would be recommended for a lens for close fast moving ferrets and what is a general all around good filter for all situations.

Respectfully,
Eric

11-08-2012, 12:24 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You are forgiven for your use of terms.

When you say 'faster' flash, I assume you mean more powerful. Flash light (in fact all light) is pretty speedy ~ around 3million meters/second Speed of light - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The speed of light is a universal constant (as far as we know) but there is a phenomena known as 'fall off' where light becomes 'dimmer' and gets more diffuse as it travels in all directions from the source. This is known as the inverse square rule. So, in other words, for every given distance the light has to travel, it loses half of its power for every additional unit of distance. Inverse-square law - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So, if your problem is you are not illuminating the ferrets sufficiently, then you need a more powerful, not faster flash. In Pentax terms, there is the AFG360 or the AFG540 flashes. The 540 is more powerful, more flexible and more expensive than the 360. There is also a ring flash for use in macro and portrait work.

There are other less expensive alternatives available on eekbay or similar that others can inform you about.