Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2012, 02:52 PM   #1

K-30 Battery and old lenses

Greetings,

It should be blatantly obvious...I'm very new to digital photography. That said...I've come to enjoy using my K100. I've researched for some time, and I think perhaps the last digicam for me could be a K-30. I don't do video. Every other part of the camera is...well, exciting.

However...I have two misgivings. I read through the posts about batteries. I never found the answer to this question: Are there any 3rd party rechargeable batteries on the market? In the past, I've had bitter experiences with batteries available only from the camera manufacturer. By the way, I really like the CR-V3's that I use in the K-100.

Of all the reviews I've read, the one posted on this site is, fittingly, the best. It answered a question, indicating that older manual Pentax lenses can be used on a K-30.

However, is the process any easier than with a K100? Yes, I can use my manual lenses on the K100, but the ease of use was a bit oversold, in my opinion. It's a bit like standing on your head, spinning to the right, and spitting up quarters.

Is the "process" similar - manual lens on K-30?

Thank you. I have a genuine appreciation for this site.

11-12-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Old Film Guy Quote
However, is the process any easier than with a K100? Yes, I can use my manual lenses on the K100, but the ease of use was a bit oversold, in my opinion. It's a bit like standing on your head, spinning to the right, and spitting up quarters.
The process is the same.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html

I wouldn't call it tedious, but you do have to stop-down meter, which is obviously not needed when shooting with A lenses or newer.

Here is a third-party battery for the K-30: