Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-23-2013, 11:55 AM   #1

Sharpening RAW files

I'm new to RAW files and processing them in Lightroom, in fact I'm new to DSLR photography in general so apologies beforehand if I sound dumb.

I've only shot in RAW since I've had my K-30. I've found I have to use a lot of sharpening to bring out the details in my photos, in the sense that I'm maxing out the sharpen slider in Lightroom. This obviously has the undesired side effect of increasing noise in my photos. Do RAW files from the K-30 generally need a lot of sharpening?

02-23-2013, 12:03 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I find sharpening works much better when you set all the sliders to 0 and use a sharpening mask with the paintbrush instead in Lightroom. It takes a while but it's definitely worth a try.
02-23-2013, 12:41 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post an example picture, that helps us to see what you are looking at. But I rarely sharpen more than the LR default of 25. I also apply a mask of around 65 - 70 so that not everything gets sharpened. You can greatly reduce the noise in areas that do not need sharpening by applying the mask. Not much need to sharpen a blue sky, but that is where the noise will show. I'm using k-5 not k-30 but that should not matter.

Also, keep in mind that sharpening is a process:
1) Input sharpening in LR is set at 25, adjust this as needed for the whole image, mask as needed
2) Creative sharpening can be added to those areas that really need special attention either with the adjustment brush or in PS
3) Export sharpening is applied when you export to jpeg or print according to the export or print module settings
02-23-2013, 03:24 PM   #4
Veteran Member