Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2013, 06:29 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Quality VS Name

I mentioned in other threads that I at one point was going to purchase either a D5100 or D5200 until I learned of the K30. I was actually a little obsessed with those cameras partly because they are Nikon. Comparing Nikon with Canon on paper, I feel the Canon name is more than a little overrated. But that is only my opinion so far. 1) I'm new to photography. and 2) I never shot Canon, Pentax or a D5xxx. So all I know is what's on paper.

Now that I have a K30 less than two days from the house, I'll probably only shoot Pentax from this point on. I invested more on the K30 itself than my entire Nikon film outfit for class. But that's all fine. An in body focus motor & IS, topped with weather-resistance was more than enough to make a quick change of plans and go another direction. I'm glad I do my homework before big purchases or I might have been the mad guy holding a D5200 on the beach trying not to get his camera wet, while a guy with a K30 is wet with sand glued to him, but still snapping shots.

All that said: Is there anyone in the forum, who has experience with both the K30 and the D5200? If so could you please compare your experiences with both? As expected, I'm curious to hear the opinions of photographers with more experience than myself. And that's almost anyone here. Because from what i've read so far, the Nikon D5200 is a very capable camera, but IMO the Pentax K30 offers so much more.

Don't let me forget to mention: I do realize, it's the photographer that takes the shot, not the camera. Thanks in advance.

04-23-2013, 06:32 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Trudger1272 Quote