Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2013, 01:55 PM - 1 Like   #1

Newbie w/ K-30 - Best settings for wildlife, outdoor photography

Bought my K-30 to level up from my point and shoot for taking pictures of any and all animals I can find out and about.
I was using an SMC Pentax M 50mm 1:2 from my step father's old camera. It can be pretty clear if focused right, but I'm still learning, so getting that focused shot can be tough.

Now I've upgraded to something more fitting for outside animal photography I think, SMC Pentax DA 55-300mm and got a good deal on it.

I know when I was shooting with the older manual lens, there were a couple suggested settings, such as changing P-line to TV-shift, for the green button.

I'm wondering if in general, there are some ideal settings for people who will more often than not be photographing subjects that may be fast moving as opposed to portrait like faces.
Should I change up auto focus settings? Right now it's on 'Auto 5' but there are others. Things like this.. Basic settings that aren't constantly variables like aperture, iso, etc, that can be found in the extensive menus.

And anything else that might be suggested.

I went out today to test it out, hand held, and got some shots about 15 to 20 feet away from the target.
Here are the results. I was also adjusting the aperture all the while and you can probably notice it from the background blur. Seemed the lower aperture number shots were a little clearer and brighter.
This was all on auto by the way, excluding the changes I was making to aperture.

Tips and advice are much appreciated.
Thanks.

05-01-2013, 02:12 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A far as AF settings, I suggest using single center point so the system will have a better chance of focusing on the critter vs the background.