Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-09-2013, 06:04 PM   #1

New K-30 noise.

Hi
I am new in the Pentax world, coming from a Nikon. I have been lurking here a while and getting a lot of useful info. After much back forth between the K-30 and K-5iis. I bought the K-30 and 18-135WR. Still not sure if I made the right decision. I have had it a week. I notice that when I turn the camera off there is a loud knocking sound like something dropped inside the camera. Not sure what it is and not sure if it is normal. This happens every time, like something fell back in its place. So is this a normal sound or is something wrong with my Camera?
I really like this camera and I am hoping it's not a bad copy I received.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

06-09-2013, 06:09 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's the dust removal feature, and the sound is completely normal. The K-30 has an older version of the mechanism that isn't silent, unlike the ultrasonic system found on the K-5 and Canon/Nikon cameras.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

06-09-2013, 06:11 PM   #3

Just sounds like its the sensor having a shake to clear dust off. You can turn this off or change it to do its work at turn on instead or both on and off. Look in you manual. All perfectly normal.
06-09-2013, 06:14 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery