Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2013, 10:32 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is It Wrong Of Me?

So... the new K-50 and K-500 have been announced. Neither appears to offer much advantage over my K-30 which is a far better camera than I am a photographer.

Having said that, B&H has the K-30 body only on for $499...

Is it wrong of me to think about getting a second body? I could have two bodies with two zooms and never have to change a lens again (NB. THIS IS JOKE!)... or a completely transparent backup to my current camera...

06-16-2013, 10:39 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Not wrong at all. Depends on your needs. I bought a k-01 as a backup for my k-5, I don't want to be without a camera if something happens to the k-5. No shooter who derives any income from photography would go out with only one body, or at least they would only do that until the camera conks out the first time. Telling a client you cannot finish up the shoot because your camera died is not a good way to get referrals.

Wedding shooters will generally have two bodies and two zooms, so that is not as much a joke as you think. But if you do not shoot anything for money then I would think hard about a second k-30. While it is a good deal, you are locking yourself into k-30s for a long time. Are you sure you will not want to upgrade at some point in the future?
06-16-2013, 10:41 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Go get another one. I have 2! One for my son and one for me but I can use both anytime . . .
06-17-2013, 01:05 AM   #4
Pentaxian

My guess is that they should get a bit cheaper still.. Just wait some time

06-17-2013, 02:17 AM   #5
Veteran Member

It means that you like the K-30 so much.
06-17-2013, 04:01 AM   #6
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by CP140 Quote
Is it wrong of me to think about getting a second body? I could have two bodies with two zooms and never have to change a lens again