Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-17-2013, 05:52 PM   #1
Inactive Account

grey card test

Im a photography student and on of my questions is to do a greycard test to build a zone ruler. I have done this multiple times and getting frustrated. Can or will anyone walk me through this? what is the best lighting for this? how do I get 13 shots for dynamic range using full stops? I dont want you to do my homework just simplify for me if you can or will.
Please and thank you
christy

06-17-2013, 06:52 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Set your grey card up, camera on tripod. Take exposures starting at 1/ISO @ f/22 and keep opening your aperture until you have your 13 exposures. Unless you have a fairly fast lens, you will have trouble getting a full 13 steps.

f/1, f/1.4, f/2, f/2.8, f/4, f/5.6, f/8, f/11, f/16, f/22 is only ten steps, so you will have to adjust exposure to get the two end values.
06-17-2013, 06:57 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi Christy, welcome aboard. As you probably know, reflective meters such as the ones found in your camera are designed to average all the light values of a scene to a middle gray that is situated exactly half way between black and white. So when you spot meter off of a gray card, you're giving the camera exactly what it expects the scene to average out to. It's like those Staples commercials with the "easy button", this is the camera's equivalent, it can't miss the exposure.