Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2013, 01:39 PM   #1

Is my K30 Defective or in need of adjustment ?

Hi,
I'm very new to DSLR cameras, did a lot of scenery shooting on a K1000 20 years ago... but this just doesn't seem right: On my new K30 all infinity focused shots are out of focus.
When I shoot long (40 ft to infinity) and use manual focus I never get the focus ring to infinity. It always focuses short of infinity to appear sharp in viewfinder, display, or IQ . This happens on the 18-55 wr kit lens, and also on my older manual Tokina 28-70 lens. Autofocus still gets me a good shot but it too never spins the focus ring to infinity.
I guess I could adapt to this but I'm wondering if something is defective or in need of calibration.
Anybody else got this ???
Matt

07-13-2013, 02:13 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This is normal- the true point of infinity focus may be before/beyond the marked position.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

07-13-2013, 02:19 PM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Axeman Quote
Hi,
I'm very new to DSLR cameras, did a lot of scenery shooting on a K1000 20 years ago... but this just doesn't seem right: On my new K30 all infinity focused shots are out of focus.
When I shoot long (40 ft to infinity) and use manual focus I never get the focus ring to infinity. It always focuses short of infinity to appear sharp in viewfinder, display, or IQ . This happens on the 18-55 wr kit lens, and also on my older manual Tokina 28-70 lens. Autofocus still gets me a good shot but it too never spins the focus ring to infinity.