Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2013, 02:44 PM   #1
Forum Member

Exposure meter on Pentax K30 with manual lense

Hi,

A quick and (probably) stupid question. Is there any way to know the exposure with a manual lens without using the Live view?

I am new with the camera and I thought the photometer was built in on the camera....

Thanks

09-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
dme

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes. See Using KM, KA and M42 lenses on Pentax (and Samsung)DSLR's for an in-depth discussion of how it works in theory and practice.
09-02-2013, 03:30 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by JohnnyXD Quote
Hi,

A quick and (probably) stupid question. Is there any way to know the exposure with a manual lens without using the Live view?

I am new with the camera and I thought the photometer was built in on the camera....

Thanks
Instructions & video guide found here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-02-2013, 03:44 PM   #4

Specific instructions for the K-30 are found here
Using Older Lenses on PENTAX K-30 | Ricoh Imaging Support

09-05-2013, 01:22 AM   #5
Aux

Exposure data is shown in viewfinder.
09-05-2013, 04:28 AM   #6
Forum Member

Original Poster
I checked it. If you press the green button, it calculates the exposure and changes the shutter speed accordingly. (depends on the aperture, but the camera doesn't know with a manual lens)