Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2013, 09:54 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Lens Combo for our Dearest Pentax K30 (Need Suggestions)

Hello again guys, noob here asking for advices.

Can you suggest a lens combo for K30? you can also include third party lenses (Pentax-k mount)
For general use:
For Macro:
For Landscape:
For Portrait:
For Zoom:

if possible, please dont suggest the uber expensive. hehe
i prefer old manual (eg. smc pentax-a 50mm 1.4)

Thanks guys. Looking forward to your response

09-20-2013, 10:19 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For Macro, for portrait:
100mm macro, either the DFA or FA or F or A. Each has more automation than the previous. Depends on your needs and budget.

General use and landscape:
DA 35mm f2.4 or DA 40mm f2.8 XS. Both are sharp, normal FoV, compact and have fast AF. Maybe you want something wider, like a manual Pentax 24mm or 28mm, but I dont have experience with those.

Zoom:
Stick with a WR zoom, like the DA WR 18-135mm or DA WR 50-200mm. That way you have the best flexibility for your camera. A zoom lens that goes above 70mm can also be good for portraits and near focus (the 50-200mm isn't true macro, but it still has a pretty high maximum magnification. It might be enough for your needs)
09-20-2013, 10:27 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rp_dxn Quote

Can you suggest a lens combo for K30? you can also include third party lenses (Pentax-k mount)
For general use:
For Macro:
For Landscape:
For Portrait:
For Zoom:

General Purpose: 18-135 is hard to be with WR, 18-55mm if you want WR on a budget, if WR is not needed either a tamron or sigma 17/18-50 2.8 (or tamron 28-75mm 2.8).
MAcro - I'd say you can go even further back even the m42 50mm or 100mm f4 macros are amazing lenses, but something like an A or M 50mm or 100mm f2.8(/4) is going to be your best bang for the buck. AF isn't a necessity for most macro work.