Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2013, 06:16 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
K-500 Impressions

Seems K-50 & K-500 owners are in witness protection program none seem to be around. I am an owner of the 500 version and so far have been happy with the camera. For me it was a leap ahead, as I stepped up from the masked Pentax, in the Samsung GL 10. There have been no issues as of yet with mechanics or electronics, And despite some good shots (so I think) I am still learning the ins & outs of the camera. Just wondering what any other users impressions are, even if it is the 50. My extra layer of learning is that I that I added several new lenses of varying focus, so that also plays into the learning experience

11-11-2013, 01:21 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Canmannac Quote
Seems K-50 & K-500 owners are in witness protection program none seem to be around. I am an owner of the 500 version and so far have been happy with the camera.
There appears to be 6 admitted owners of the K-500 doing a quick search on this forum: You, Adam, brelip, salb, black-kx, and myself.

salb mentions a problem with his K-500, and black-kx appears to be selling his K-500 to get a nearly free DA 50mm F1.8 lens.

I bought the K-500 to replace an obsolete *istDL, which also didn't have the focus points in the viewfinder or weather resistance. I just use the center focus point and recompose.

I was initially interested in the K-50, but even with all the extras included in the Adorama deal, it was still $700 total outlay. The K-500 was only $360 with the Hunt's deal.

Like you, I am also learning the features of this camera. It is more complicated than the earlier Pentax models I am used to.
11-11-2013, 01:39 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
K-500 owner here!

I've only taken a handful of pics so far - some are great, some are, well...I have a thread in the beginners forum to figure out what I did wrong.