Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2013, 11:20 PM   #1

Video Settings sdof

Hello I'm new to DSLR's I just purchased A K-30. I strictly shoot video. I have purchased a Rokinon 35mm F/1.4 Wide Angle Lens (manual focus, manual aperture ring with the "A" button. My Main goal is to capture video and control shallow depth of field. I will not be shooting with a shutter speed less than 1/60 of a second. My video capture will be HD 30fps. The last time I used a camera was 30 years ago and all I had to do was enter the ISO film speed (which was usually 100) the Shutter speed which was usually around 150, and set the aperture ring for bright days, overcast or sunset, 16,8, or 4. Now it seems these new camera's check 4 things before they shoot. I have tried what other on-line have suggested, but I can't seem to manually adjust my aperture ring without the camera over riding it. Even when I set it to the "A" button and attempt to adjust the aperature manually in the camera (not on the lens) I can't achieve the deep shallow depth of field, or for that matter any darkening of my image. Please be sure to look at my only goals here to :be able to control my shallow depth of field in video.
Thanks

12-06-2013, 03:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

1. make sure you have set the camera "to allow other aperture than A" (somewhere in the menu at the end) Then it will accept manual aperture besides "A". Might be the best in your case.
2. Are you sure you've set the camera in M mode in de video! menu (push "info" while in video mode and select M)?
12-06-2013, 09:54 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by grispie Quote
1. make sure you have set the camera "to allow other aperture than A" (somewhere in the menu at the end) Then it will accept manual aperture besides "A". Might be the best in your case.
2. Are you sure you've set the camera in M mode in de video! menu (push "info" while in video mode and select M)?