Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-11-2013, 05:44 PM   #1

Upgrade from my trusty Kx?

I'm considering upgrading from the Kx I've been using for the last 5 years. But I'm having a lot of internal debate, and so I thought I would post something here and see if some friendly input helps my decision making.

In January I'm moving to London (from San Francisco) for work (film industry, not photo related). I intend to shoot a lot for my own enjoyment, in London, other parts of the UK I hope to travel to, and in continental Europe, where I hope to spend some time as well. Since I'm moving in the middle of winter, wet weather is one of the reasons I'm considering upgrading. But I'd like to make my purchases here before I go since it seems like the cheaper way to go.

I've had the Kx for years and it's been a PHENOMENAL investment. I think I paid around $460 for the body + 18-55 + 55-300 lens combo. I've gotten a handful of lenses over the years, mainly using the 18-135, 40, 15 and sigma 17-70. I've loved the relatively small size and the ability to take AAs. It makes for a great travel camera.

Last year I spent 3 months traveling in South America. Before my trip I bought a K5, thinking it would be a good step up in IQ, handling, and travel functionality with the weather resistance. But I ended up returning it because I just did not like how much bigger and heavier it was.

So that brings me to my current dilemma. I would still like a WR camera body to go the 18-135 lens. And I would still like to upgrade to something with better overall IQ, better high ISO, nicer VF, and hopefully better metering. But I know I don't want a camera the size of a K5. The K5 is still pretty small compared to many others out there, but it's more than I like to lug around. Honestly, I'd actually like something SMALLER than the Kx, but I'm conflicted about changing systems and giving up the OVF.