Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-04-2014, 10:41 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Fujifilm JPEG Profiles.

Hello forum!

First off, thanks for taking the time to read my post.

I have been a Pentax DSLR shooter for a long time. I've owned the K100D, K-x, and K-r. I have always shot RAW and loved how manageable the files were (especially the K-x).

I am mostly a street shooter, so when the Fuji X100 came out, I lusted over it. And about a year ago, I finally bought one. It was an amazing camera in every way. But what surprised me most is how fantastic the JPEGs were, particularly the Standard (Provia) and the Vivid (Velvia). I enjoyed these so much, that I shot JPEG exclusively with the X100. I just couldn't create anything as magical with the RAWs. It was truly just shooting Fujifilm with my Yashica Electro 35 GSM.

But alas, I am a full-time college student also working as a volunteer at a high school, so I have no way to actually earn money, and I have since sold the X100. But there is a happy ending, and I now own a Pentax K-50 which was a Christmas gift, and I love it. Easily the best camera I have owned next to the X100.

So my question is: Does anyone know how to recreate the Fuji Film Simulation profiles in the K-50? I still mainly shoot RAW with it, but I would love that simplicity of gorgeous out-of-camera JPEGs. Just imagine, a Provia look in the normal auto/semi-auto modes, then switch to U1 for Velvia, and U2 for B&W.

Thanks again for any help!

01-04-2014, 11:09 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's in the Rec Mode menus. Change the saturation, etc. until you see the effect you want. You can also shoot RAW+ and get both at the same time. The LCD will show the effect, but the RAW files are not modified in any way.
01-04-2014, 11:14 AM   #3
Pentaxian