Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2014, 02:48 AM   #1

Help with new K-30

Hi Everyone
New to Pentax having just bought the K-30 with 18-55 and 50-200 lenses that came with the camera.
Love taking photos of my grandchildren playing soccer and ice hockey. Currently hockey season.
I know the 55-200 is optimally not the best lens for this application so I will likely buy the DA 60-250 or Sigma 70-200.
Not sure which one would be better though I think I'm leaning toward the Pentax 60-260 for the WR factor though it is not 2.8 as suggested for sports photography. For now, as I use the 50-200 for ice hockey, I basically set the scene mode to moving subject and play with the ISO. My shots are o.k.anyone have suggestions on different settings using this lens that will give me even better results ? Lastly, can I expect seriously better results if I purchase one of the other two discussed lenses ? Sorry, Kind of a novice here but I really want to max out the cameras capabilities.

01-07-2014, 07:05 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Go for the Sigma 70-200/2.8 if you intend to shoot sports.
01-07-2014, 08:25 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I shoot my grand kids playing soccer and had a Tamron 70-300, I found the 300 end great for the long soccer field but the 70 was too long when they got close. When I got my Kr I got it in a kit with the DAL 55-300 and it was a sharper lens than the Tamron and better for sports because of the wider end when they got closer. For me 300 is a minimum for soccer. I was quite surprised at the sharpness of the DAL and I use if often. I know it is not WR and for that I use my K30 W/18-135. With the high ISO capabilities of the K30 I find I don't need a f2.8 lens and to me the 70-200 would be to short at the long end and to long at the wide end for sports. Enjoy your K30
01-07-2014, 09:47 AM   #4