Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2014, 04:37 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Upgrade from K-X or just get a 18-135 lens?

Hi, all,
I'm a hobbyist, and bought myself a K-X three years ago as a retirement present. I wasn't good at retirement (life intervened...) and I'm now working so I don't get to use the camera as much as I'd like. However, I decided I wanted to have it more readily available so I went looking at "walk around" camera cases.

That led to a, "gee, maybe it would be nice to get a walk-around lens"--I LOVE my Tamron 10-24 and like my Pentax kit 55-300, but switching between them can be a pain. So I started looking at the Pentax 18-135 because of its versatility.

Then I saw good stuff about the K-30 (though I can't find paired with the 18-135 that except through Amazon retailers that have questionable repute) and the K-50.

I really love the K-X and am sure I haven't fully exploited its capabilities. However, if the indicators in the view-finder are easier to see in the K-50, and the AF/MF switch works all the time, I am sorely tempted to go for the K-50.

Questions: would you make the plunge, or just get the lens and deal with the K-X idiosyncrasies?
How heavy/bulky is the K-50 compared to the K-X?

Thanks in advance,
Hallie

01-07-2014, 07:50 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You have a lot here to consider regarding the issues raised.

First, if the Amazon merchants are unknown, but the item is "fulfilled by Amazon" you have nothing to worry about on that front.