Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2014, 05:57 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Help with flash and indoor photography (K30)

Hi team,

I own a pentax K30 with 18-135mm WR lens still trying to learn photography. My friend had requested my help in capturing the moments for his daughter's birthday. Being a newbie, I need some assistance on the indoor photography with indoor lighting conditions. The following are my queries.

1) Do I need an external flash to purchase or my built in flash will do for indoor photography? If I need an external flash, kindly advise the good ones which costs less on budget.

2) I cannot invest in any new lens at the moment and hence had to use with my existing 18-135mm lens for this occasion. Hence kindly advise a safe bet on the settings (aperture, shutter speed and ISO) to use in most cases for indoor photography and with candle lights.

Since its an important occasion, I feel bit of a pressure. Please help.

Regards,
Jai

01-13-2014, 06:10 PM   #2
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Before the day of reckoning, set up a similar situation--persons or dolls/mannequins in the nearest and farthest positions of import, other house lights on, candles, etc., and take notes of what you are trying.
01-13-2014, 06:12 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
While there is no question that an external flash will be better, you can work with the on board flash. The problem with the on board flash is that you get a flat look because the light is in direct line with the lens. You should be able to get quite good images although they will not be 'pro' quality because of the flat light. Still should be far better than what people with cell phones will take.