Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2014, 11:47 AM   #1

K-50 Image Colors

Hey all. I'm quite the novice here, and I'm sure my question will verify this. After reading countless testimonials regarding the K-50, I decided to purchase one before Christmas of this year. Along with the camera, I purchased the 18-135mm lens and the 50mm 1.8 lens. I have been very pleased with it thus far as I continue to learn about this fine camera. One issue that I am having regards color of indoor images. Even though images are sharp, many of my indoor shots produce colors not true to the original image. I have owned Canon Rebels in the past and didn't experience this issue with indoor color. Using the built in flash helps, but produces a softer image. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I continue to improve my skills

02-01-2014, 11:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you familiar as to what white balance (WB) is?

It can be changed in camera or later in post processing to eliminate weird color hues. Indoors you've got all types of lighting, fluorescent, LED, etc that will produce different results on your image, so you will have to play with your WB and see what setting looks most natural.

Take a look at this guide for more info: http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/white-balance.htm

On the K-50, WB setting should be the down WB button on the four-way selection pad.

Last edited by Julie; 02-01-2014 at 11:59 AM.
02-01-2014, 12:13 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Julie Quote
Are you familiar as to what white balance (WB) is?

It can be changed in camera or later in post processing to eliminate weird color hues. Indoors you've got all types of lighting, fluorescent, LED, etc that will produce different results on your image, so you will have to play with your WB and see what setting looks most natural.

Take a look at this guide for more info: Understanding White Balance