Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2014, 11:36 AM   #1

K30/50 Body only + SLR lenses?

Quick question for you all...

Would you guys recommend for me to opt out of kit lenses and purchase body without owning any digital SLR lenses? I have a plethora of 35mm Nikon SLR lenses that I have been using with my Q. I just can't afford an entire kit right away. Eventually I will purchase K-mount lenses...but just now. Is it worth it? I'm a casual photographer.

Thanks.

02-04-2014, 11:43 AM   #2
Site Supporter

You might be able to find a k-30 with 18-55 for $350ish.

If you decide to use the Nikon lenses, you're gonna need an adapter.
02-04-2014, 11:44 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by MarinatedHerring Quote
Quick question for you all...

Would you guys recommend for me to opt out of kit lenses and purchase body without owning any digital SLR lenses? I have a plethora of 35mm Nikon SLR lenses that I have been using with my Q. I just can't afford an entire kit right away. Eventually I will purchase K-mount lenses...but just now. Is it worth it? I'm a casual photographer.

Thanks.
You can't really use Nikon lenses on a Pentax DSLR, so in your case I'd recommend going for the kit lens.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
02-04-2014, 11:48 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter