Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-06-2014, 04:44 PM   #1

My new pentax k-50 arrived!

All I can say is that it is amazing. Stepping up from point and shoot to this camera is amazing.

The camera is really solid. I never appreciated how heavy it is...

While there is so much to learn, the automatic settings and the pre set scene modes are great. Very simple to use at first. I have never used an DSLR or ILC before!!

The 18-135 lens is amazing. Really quiet and simple.
The 50/1.8 I bought is amazing though it focuses with more noise - now I understand the comment of how this lens will take portraits that will just impress the friends and neighbors :-)

A few things I didn't realize before i bought it -

The flash doesn't fire automatically unless you manually have it raised first. Apparently other brands have pop up flashes that do just that - they pop up when needed. On the k-50 you need to actively select to have the flash up if you want it to work - even in automatic flash mode. The truth is the camera and lenses have been taking such great indoor photos that I think that around 90% of the time I am not using a flash where I would have done so in the past on a point and shoot.

The camera has a feature that lets you select individual photos for eye fi transfer. As opposed to the transfer always being on for all photos on the card - as is the case in many cameras when using eye fi. So I think I am going to get one of those cards.

Tomorrow I am going into Jerusalem. I think I will take the camera with me and see if there is anything interesting to snap and share.

03-06-2014, 04:50 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by TzalamChadash Quote
Apparently other brands have pop up flashes that do just that - they pop up when needed