Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2014, 12:49 PM   #1
Forum Member

Need some Focus Pocus

Let me start by saying a couple of things. I'm a former SLR film photographer (so I know about Depth of field, I.S.O.'s and the like). I love my new Pentax K-50, lots of features and it looks awesome. BUT.....

I must be missing something. I brought my k-50 to my daughter's band concert last night, and the pictures were pretty blah! Now, I know that the lighting was pretty bad & the color lights didn't help, not to mention that the high ISO wouldn't produce nice photos (grain-wise) etc..., but it put me kind of down & sad about the camera's overall photo quality.

I had before this a point & shoot Canon, that even in those conditions produced some fairly nice photos (for a point & shoot). I was using the Pentax K-50 camera in Manual focus (I'm pretty good with that & other things), and I brought my Pentax 50mm f2.0 "m" lens with a Vivitar 2.0x tele-converter. I took those because I figured even with the converter it's at f4.0, and is supposedly better quality than the 18-55mm Kit lens that the camera came with. I was disappointed. Maybe my skills are a bit rusty, however I retained all of my former photo experience I gained in the past, but I couldn't get excited about my photos. Can you fine people offer me some advice on anything I may be missing in this new DSLR world's features? I have to be missing something. Even in daylight I find my photos are NOT that sharp (focus-wise). I did the auto-focus fine adjustment thing and all that. I read the book and set my camera to what I thought would be ideal, but yet I see some photos on this forum where the focus is WOW...sharp & nice.

Any advice would help greatly...please remember I'm not a beginner in the world of photography, but I'm not a pro.

Thanks,

...Bert

03-15-2014, 01:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums