Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
04-05-2014, 09:18 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are all of these dead pixels or noise?

See the attached photo! It's a 100% cropped in near center of a long exposure photo taken with K30 and DA21ltd.
Can you see those red, green, ... pixels! Are they dead pixels? so many!? or noise? You see I've put the NR of LR5 to 50! so some level of NR is done to it.

Any thought or advice is appreciated.

Attached Images

04-05-2014, 09:23 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You might look into "hot" pixels. As I understand it, "hot pixels" are basically just blown out pixels that can show up during long exposures and/or high ISOs? I had a bunch crop up during a trip to the zoo when I took a lot of pictures in very very low light in some nocturnal exhibits. They are not permanently damaged pixels and they "reset" themselves after a short period of time. I am no technical expert (obviously), but you mentioned it was a long exposure, so this could be the same "hot pixel" problem.
04-05-2014, 09:28 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
That is an extremely long exposure, 3.5 minutes, hot pixels are inevitable. I'm assuming you didn't use dark frame subtraction in the body, that can help a lot. It takes a second exposure for the same duration with the shutter closed to map the hot pixels.
04-05-2014, 09:32 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Steve.Ledger Quote
What was to ISO used?
Check the photo, it's stated there ISO100!

QuoteOriginally posted by severalsnakes Quote
but you mentioned it was a long exposure, so this could be the same "hot pixel" problem.
Well, yes that's 211seconds, I thought hot pixels are same as dead pixels.

---------- Post added 04-06-14 at 12:33 PM ----------

Too blurry to tell. Looks like a load of dust.
Colorful dusts!?