Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2014, 07:10 AM   #1

Mirror stuck problem in new Pentax K-50

I am new to photography and thought will start with my first DSLR. After a long research I narrowed down on Pentax as the brand. Though I wanted to go with the K-3 but then I thought why not try the K-50 instead and if I like it I will stick with this brand. I bought a Pentax K-50 from Adorama and I liked the camera. After 3 weeks of very moderate usage the camera failed. While taking a picture the mirror would go up to capture the image, would return partially and get stuck midway. The camera was trying to align the mirror to its correct position but was failing again and again and eventually it hanged. I tried to power it off and even that would not happen. The only option left was to remove the battery. The live view mode however was able to take pictures but still the mirror sounded awkward. It does take great pictures but it still has to work properly. 3 weeks into receiving it new and I have to send it for repairs. Just wanted to check if anyone else also has this problem with their K-50? Sometimes it makes me feel that there is a reason why Canon and Nikon and the big 2 in the camera business. They are not there without a reason. Now I am very skeptical about the camera that I have. Will it work properly after getting repaired for long or in another month I am with the same issue with it. Bad experience to begin with a new brand.

04-26-2014, 09:06 AM   #2
Pentaxian

ALL camera brands have problems from time to time, not just Pentax. Research the other brands and you'll see what I mean. Sometimes stuff just happens, and unfortunately it's your turn I'm sorry to say. Get the camera repaired or exchanged.
04-26-2014, 09:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Never heard of that problem so it sounds like you got the bad egg of the bunch.

All brands produce some faulty cameras.